Call for Rusty Wrench Award nominations

Call for Rusty Wrench Award nominations

2019-12-01T12:17:14+11:00December 1st, 2019|Categories: Linux Australia, Rusty Wrench|Tags: , , |

Hi everyone,

The Rusty Wrench Award is Australia’s highest honour for community contributions to the Open Source movement in the country. It was
eponymously named after luminary Rusty Russell, one of Australia’s most prominent contributors and community members, founder of (as CALU, in 1999), and the inaugural recipient of the award.

The Rusty Wrench Award is an award inaugurated by Jeff Waugh to recognise outstanding service to the Australian and New Zealand Free and
Open Source Software community.

Please send your nomination to council at with the subject line “Rusty Wrench Nomination: NAME OF NOMINEE”, and include a paragraph
on why you believe this person should be awarded the Rusty Wrench.

The Council and previous recipients of the Rusty Wrench will review the nominations received.

Recipients of the Rusty Wrench Award:

  • 2019 — Joshua Hesketh
  • 2018 — No award made
  • 2017 — Michael Still and Michael Davies (joint award)
  • 2016 — No award made
  • 2015 — Steve Walsh
  • 2014 — Andrew Tridgell
  • 2013 — Donna Benjamin
  • 2012 — Mary Gardiner
  • 2008–2011 — No award made
  • 2007 — Kim Weatherall
  • 2006 — Pia Waugh
  • 2005 — Rusty Russell

Nominations should be received no later than the 16th December 2019.

Kind regards,

Julien Goodwin
Linux Australia

Join Linux Australia – Membership is free

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top